Leadership Tip I Recently Re-Learned (2)

Posted on May 1, 2007. Filed under: Leadership Tips, Quotes |

In light of reading the article 10 Golden Lessons From Steve Jobs on the Ririan Project, I decided to read up a little on Steve Jobs myself. And I ran across this quote that reminded me of something I read before:

The people who are doing the work are the moving force behind the Macintosh. My job is to create a space for them, to clear out the rest of the organization and keep it at bay.
Steve Jobs

It reminded me that as a manager and a leader, one of my top priorities should be to remove as many obstacles to success for my team as I possibly can. Obstacles can be anything. Distraction, lack of resources, micromanagement, etc. My feeling is if I can provide them with all the tools they need, and the space they nedigg.com/business_finance/Great_Multi_Taskers_Make_Poor_Leadersed get things done, I’ve already accomplished a major part of my job.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...