Leadership Tip I Recently Learned (1)

Posted on April 27, 2007. Filed under: Leadership Tips, Shared Experience |

I was thinking how much I hated meetings while walking to one of my regularly scheduled pow-wows. And then a ray of sunshine shone through the fluorescent lighting (I know this is dramatic, but work with me). My boss canceled this week’s meeting and the subsequent week’s meeting because he thought we were “well on track” and he didn’t think it was necessary. This not only boosted our pride because we got the pat on the back, but it brought instant relief because we were spared the drudgery of another round of “beat the dead horse”.

You want to boost morale a little? Cancel unnecessary meetings once in awhile when you know your people’s work merits recognition. And don’t forget to tell them why. That was a nice touch.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

